PGA Tour - 2018 Barracuda Championship

Posted on August 05 2018

PGA Tour - 2018 Barracuda Championship

The only PGA Tour event on the schedule with a modified scoring format takes place this week at the Barracuda Championship. Last year, Chris Stroud defeated Richy Werenski and Greg Owen in a sudden-death playoff for his first PGA Tour victory. He’ll be defending his title against a strong field, including former Barracuda Championship winners Vaughn Taylor, J.J. Henry and Geoff Ogilvy. Other notables include former U.S. Open champions Graeme McDowell and Retief Goosen, as well as U.S. Ryder Cup Captain Jim Furyk.

Montreux Golf and CC has hosted this event since 1999. Set in the mountains around Reno, Nevada, it requires proper adjustment to the high elevation of over 1500 meters. A Jack Nicklaus design, it’s considered one of the best courses he’s ever done.

This tournament uses a Modified Stableford format, which awards points per hole based on strokes. A double-eagle is worth 8 points; eagles are worth 5; birdies are worth 2; pars are worth 0; bogeys are -1 point, and double-bogeys or worse are -3 points. The scoring format encourages aggressive play, so look for the winner to take more risks than in a normal Tour event.

Recent Posts


Welcome to the Loyalty Points Demo Store :-)

Sign up and receive 5000 pts to test out in our Store.

Earning and redeeming Reward Points

Earns you
Redeems to

Ways you can earn

  • Product Purchase
  • Refer a friend
  • Share on social media

Learn more about our program